Recipe | Easy Chewy Cocoa Brownies

Now I know one of the main focuses of my blog is fitness, and chewy cocoa brownies doesn’t really seem to compliment that category too well (…sighhh), but I like chocolate just as much as the next girl and sometimes you’ve just got to treat yourself! But seriously it’s all really just about balance, I certainly don’t deprive myself of sweets – that’s a sin…

So here I have for you a super EASY brownie recipe! I whipped up this batter in a couple of minutes and the clean up was minimal. The reason why it is particularly easy is because there is no melting of chocolate necessary, these are made with cocoa powder alone – and boy are they rich and chocolatey!

SAMSUNG CSC So to start I just gathered up all of my ingredients to make the whole process quicker, and I also started preheating my oven (350°F). Though I usually use margarine for this recipe, I tried butter this time since my margarine was running low. There were some differences that I noticed, but I can’t be certain they were due to the butter or my addition of a splash of milk (which I will mention later). I found that they were a little more fudgey and chewy this time, they are usually more cakey. Both are fantastic in my opinion, so you can choose what you would like to use based on your preferences. Maybe I should make two different batches next time to “test” the difference, twice the brownies all in the name of research! 😉

SAMSUNG CSC

All you really need is one mixing bowl and a 9-inch square baking dish. I greased my baking dish with some margarine I used a sifter for my flour and cocoa because I have one, i’m unsure if it really makes a huge difference.

SAMSUNG CSC

I stirred all of my dry ingredients together in my mixing bowl and then melted my butter in a small bowl. Im lazy so I just popped it in the microwave for about 25 seconds and then stirred it to melt the small chunk that was still in there. I didn’t want to heat it up too hot since I was going to be adding eggs into the batter (the hot butter ends up cooking the egg whites a bit, and you are left with egg white chunks in your batter).

The non-lazy way to do it is to melt your butter in a pot on the stove, that way your can melt/dissolve your sugar into it. In the past I have only ever used margarine to make this recipe, and I have found that when I am lazy and don’t melt the sugar too – the brownies turn out quite grainy. But for some reason this time they weren’t, even though I didn’t melt the sugar…….I’m unsure how butter would change that, but it seems it did.

SAMSUNG CSC

Before I poured the melted butter into my dry ingredients, I added the vanilla into the butter. Then I combined this with my dry ingredients, and also added in my two eggs. I found that after I mixed all of this together it was still a tad too dry to combine fully, so I splashed some milk in there and it was much better. Im talking a very small amount, try a teaspoon at a time to prevent adding too much if your need to.

SAMSUNG CSC

Once everything was smooth and fully combined, I poured the batter into my greased baking dish. I think this picture demonstrates the consistency quite well, it is pretty thick!

SAMSUNG CSC

I shook the baking dish a bit to encourage the thick batter to spread out evenly. And then I popped it in to my preheated oven (350°F).

SAMSUNG CSC

After 25 minutes I was left with this glorious dish of goodness! You can take a toothpick and poke the centre to see if it comes out clean. If it is goopy you can pop them back in the oven for a couple minutes.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 4.45.30 PM

One thought on “Recipe | Easy Chewy Cocoa Brownies

Leave a Reply

